RSS

Priscilla

05 Jan

http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/2012/01/short-story-slam-week-18.html

Priscilla

It was Saturday night, I just got home from the library, at least that is where I told my grandmother were I would be, but I was really with Bobby. I seldom, if at all, lie to my grandmother. I have known Bobby (we are seniors now), since the first grade. We always ate our lunches together in the school cafeteria sharing either our excitement or our disappointments of the day; and sometimes what was going on at home, until a couple of weeks ago.

When we were walking back from school, my grandmother was coming home from the local corner grocer, and looking at Bobby as she joined us, blurted out “Bobby, what is happening to you? You are turning out to be just another Fat Boy! Good God Boy.” As she shook her head back and forth, then looked at me and said, “Pricilla, you want them lean”, emphasizing the word LEAN.

 He stopped eating with me, because now, he said he was feeling embarrassed to sit with me in public. He still walks with us to school and back but he lingers somewhat behind.

For my eight-grade graduation, my grandmother gave me a pair of bright yellow sneakers, telling me they will help me to skip to the future. I loved them. Then she handed me a bright yellow umbrella, saying you cannot see them but there are wings on this umbrella that will always carry you through a storm. I loved it.

Saturday morning started dark, damp, and missing my good friend Bobby. No school today, so we can’t at least “meet up”…and then it started to pour. A kind of storm for me as I made up my mind. Forget my boots, I put on my old faded, nicked rubber, torn canvas yellow sneakers, then I grabbed the yellow umbrella. I yelled to my grandmother that I was off to the library for some homework that needed to be done.

I stopped at the local grocer to pick up something, anything that would get my friendship back with Bobby. I am going to see him at his house. I forgot my purse, my wallet, my gum! I search my big front pocket found six quarters and a dime. By then I was in front of the grocer and smiling at me, asked if he could help me. I can look very mature and demure, oh yeah.

 I explained my purpose of the visit I was making and wondering about the gift, I should bring…with six quarters and a dime. He reached behind him, put a vase of beautiful yellow flowers on the counter, and said that it would take six quarters for the flowers but not for the vase.

It was Saturday night, I just got home from the library, at least that is where I told my grandmother were I would be, but I was really with Bobby. She was asleep in her chair, half-knitted potholder on her lap, but managed to ask if the homework was done. I told her yes, but before I could thank her again for the skip to the future and the wings to get there in a storm, she was sound asleep.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2012 in AARP, bullying, Love, Outlaw, short story

 

11 responses to “Priscilla

  1. Natalie

    January 5, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    losing weight for her lover?

    very interesting and lovely story.

    Like

     
  2. Nicole

    January 5, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    Loved the voice in this.

    Like

     
  3. Snowflakes

    January 5, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    some magic in it, isn’t it?

    bullying is sad, glad to see your character fly.

    Like

     
  4. charlesmashburn

    January 6, 2012 at 2:21 am

     
  5. charlesmashburn

    January 6, 2012 at 2:23 am

    So sorry ZQ! I got you confused with another poet I read on here! My apologies!

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      January 6, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      It could have been me 🙂
      I will take a compliment under any name 🙂

      Like

       
  6. Traci B

    January 6, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    Sweet story about holding onto friendship despite the obstacles. Good use of the prompt. 🙂

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      January 9, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      Thank you

      Like

       
  7. Taylor

    January 8, 2012 at 2:11 am

    beautiful plot, keep it up.

    🙂

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      January 9, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      Thank you T.

      Like

       
  8. Nikki

    December 23, 2014 at 4:43 am

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have keep in mind your stuff prior to and you are just too great. I really like what you have recieved here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which by which you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to stay it wise. I can not wait to learn far more from you. That is really a terrific web site.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
