RSS

three inches of snow

08 Mar

 

wandering from the kitchen onto the porch, facing the back yard;

I recognized it, I could smell it, I could feel it

as I sat down, pushing myself gently

on the hanging porch swing.

 

It was after Mardi Gras, the season was completing its journey.

From freezing to thawing, to occasional snow;

 now, more noticeably, the large, and radiant sun.

 

I could hear the wind chimes ringing

in the soft, warm, westerly southern breeze.

Smiling at what was coming,

I saw the children, entering  the yard.

 

I watched the children play;

at first, thinking they were my children.

But, they were not.

 

Wearing tee shirts and sneakers; all of it familiar,

maybe, they were nephews or nieces,

or neighbors, playing basketball, again, in my back yard.

Passing and flipping the ball over their shoulders,

 

often missing the ball as it would plop

 into the thawing March snow.

Laughing at all their near misses.

 

Hootin’ an’ a hollerin’ as the snow would fly off the ball,

barely missing the rim with those awesome “swishes”

dropping through the rusted hoop,

flying through a tattered net.

 

Making their dunks and hangin’ on,

 screamin’ “Who Da Man, Now?”

Definitely not official and it definitely wasn’t ten feet anymore…

Oh gosh! Maybe, they are my grand children.

Or, another generation… I don’t know.

We must be related I’m sure; playing 

as I’ve seen , many, many times before.

 

I watched the white washing winter fade into a cleansing Spring;

like yesterday in unison with tomorrow

playing basketball in three inches of  snow.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2012 in AARP, Fathers, Lent, Love, Sittting still

 

Tags:

7 responses to “three inches of snow

  1. Chevrefeuille

    March 8, 2012 at 8:14 am

    Wow! What a wonderful poem. Love the imagery you have painted here with your words. Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

     
  2. ZQ

    March 8, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    Thank you very much.

    Like

     
  3. Belva@MainelyMugUps

    March 9, 2012 at 12:12 am

    This is such a nice piece. I can see it all so clearly in my mind’s eye!

    Like

     
  4. ZQ

    March 9, 2012 at 2:35 am

    Thank you for you kind comment.

    Like

     
  5. tigerbrite

    March 10, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Sounds like a daydream. Nodding in and out of sleep hearing the children’s voices. Mardi Gras (the time of my birthday) is always when the snow comes…. if it does… in this very southern part of europe. If it does, Spaniards take their kids in the car to see it. Only happens once in a few years. Kids get to five or six and have never seen it. Everyone wonders at the white stuff.

    Like

     
  6. Voyages Vistas Vino

    March 14, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    I love this. You brought me back to long forgotten memories of taking out the ball for the first time as the snow and ice melts away in the first heat of spring. I could feel that ball, I could smell the rubber, hear the bounce and shield my eyes from the sun. Thank you for sharing.

    Cheers,

    Mark Butkus

    Like

     
  7. ZQ

    March 14, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    Thank you for stopping by.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
