RSS

Pine Cone Diary:my 40 days and 40 nights

16 Mar

 

“A wish for you; an acorn in your pocket and pine needles in your shoe.” Anonymous

 

Eventide’s Redemption

 

Sensual winds, swirling between the trees;

overturning fallen leaves, slipping under broken limbs

lumbering  pine needles, creating cyclones

that circled and rolled a large,

golden brown, acorn at my feet.

 I knelt and whispered:

 

Oh my God open my heart so I can see

So that my mind can soul the truth I know

Let me hear Your Love; that chimes the light

Into life and silences the dark by showing me the moon

I will close my eyes and rest my mind

Letting this day drift away as testimony

Of my trials

Let the dusk welcome me with the fruits of my day

And let me sleep in the shelter of Your Grace

I have no lamb to sacrifice, nor special gift to wrap

Let me sleep at Your feet knowing You

And who I am

With all my love

 

Owls hoot! Dark shadows dart! dry twigs snap!

Sinking sun chased by dusk, races across my path.

Picking my way, boot soles roll

over small unstable rocks.

Flashing fireflies signal brightly,

the ticking of eventide.

 

Twilight diamonds peek through the rising mist and waking fog;

aroma, discreet, sweet, without the scent of fear.

I find myself at the edge of the woods,

smelling the distant village fires.

Lighting my lamp,

I find the acorn in my pocket;

 

smiling, having been tossed by the wind,

 knowing, to release this new seed, in sunlight;

I leave behind me,

 the darkness 

of a dark wooded night.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in AARP, Lent, Love, Pine Cone Diaries, poems, Poetry, religion

 

One response to “Pine Cone Diary:my 40 days and 40 nights

  1. blueplatypus

    March 24, 2012 at 12:31 am

    Nice piece. I love your imagery!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
