RSS

Outlaw Journal Entry

09 Apr

‘…there is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.”

“Anthem” Leonard Cohen

 

County Time

 

Blue skies watch racing puffy white clouds.

I Stand on the edge of granite steps

passing the last unlocked door.

Nightmare’s last horizon.

Light breeze swirling freely, between brick buildings;

squeezes through ten foot fences,

slicing through glinting barbwire rolls

kiss, both my cheeks, good-bye.

 

I wait for my ride.

I watch birds gliding in tandem swooping past me

as if they heralded my release;

in their silent song, in continuous pantomime

of their lessons, learning to fly.

I sit on the granite steps,

as they perched near me,

waiting for my ride.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in Jails/Prison, Outlaw, poems, Poetry, thoughts, Zen

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Outlaw Journal Entry

  1. mbwilliams

    April 9, 2012 at 10:09 am

    ‘As of they heralded my release’, a wonderful line.

    Like

     
  2. ZQ

    April 9, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Thank you MB

    Like

     
  3. Kay Salady

    April 11, 2012 at 10:59 am

    I felt as though I were sitting beside you gazing at those birds . . . feeling the anticipation. I’m certain there is significance to that line, “kiss both my cheeks goodbye”.

    Like

     
  4. ZQ

    April 12, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    Thank You Kay

    Like

     
  5. Mariya Koleva

    April 13, 2012 at 9:31 am

    pre-taste of freedom on the character’s lips, I feel 🙂 life outside IS beautiful and they know it well.

    Like

     
  6. ZQ

    April 19, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    Yup! Clean and happy

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
