RSS

enlightened reflection

26 May

I remember when age was not respected.

When age was a creepy widower, a suspicious old man,

a shadow behind every curtain pushed through dim-lit windows.

 

You would never, ever,

ever, trick or treat there.

 

On the bright side: I remember Grandpa

slipping into my suspicious hand a folded one-dollar bill;

for a chore, a treat, or, for just standing still.

 

Perhaps then, I should have rung

the old man’s door bell.

 

 

I remember when age was not respected;

standing before relics, my feet un-balanced on the water

that I once dreamed of walking on.

 

Now, in reality, understanding

what prevented crossing that sea;

 

from raindrop to stream, going back with the tide,

ebbing with what I see and have seen.

I remember, my transition

 

from ignoring glances,

to enlightened reflection.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2013 in AARP, ignorance, Philosophy, poems, Poetry, thoughts, Zen

 

Tags: ,

20 responses to “enlightened reflection

  1. mindlovemisery

    May 26, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    This is fantastic when I was a kid I used to visit the elderly and listen to them talk for hours, I was a kid obsessed with human nature, I am an adult obsessed with human nature lol I love hearing people’s stories. These visits showed a lot about what love really means seeing couples that had withstood hardship and disability

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      May 26, 2013 at 8:05 pm

      Thank you. Let us go with grace 🙂

      Like

       
  2. charleenm

    May 26, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    We have too much an obsession with youth.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      May 26, 2013 at 8:08 pm

      Youth is a wonderful path to pass through…to nourish our age and wisdom.
      Thank you for your visit.

      Like

       
  3. Laura Hegfield

    May 26, 2013 at 3:53 pm

    beautiful…aging is a wonderful part of life, if we are so blessed to live a long time.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      May 26, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      I am reminded on certain days, when my shoulder aches, how blessed I was (am) passing through. 🙂

      Like

       
  4. Audrey Howitt

    May 26, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    I loved how you outlined this journey of the heart –just beautiful!

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      May 26, 2013 at 8:15 pm

      Thank you A.H.

      Like

       
  5. brian miller

    May 26, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    its funny how we view time and aging as we grow…i was just talking with a friend today on how fast the time seems to go the older we get….there is a nice awareness in your closing words as well…

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      May 26, 2013 at 8:18 pm

      Oh ya,a little blurry now, but some pretty clear black and white pictures from the past. 🙂

      Like

       
  6. Sherry Marr

    May 26, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    What is most amazing to me is how young I feel now, at an age I used to think of as cretin-like. I love that your grandpa handed you a folded dollar bill. In my day it was a dime – which likely bought as much then as the dollar did later!

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      May 26, 2013 at 8:21 pm

      …I don’t think I knew how free and clear life is, (as it can be) until I hit 40…mmmmm…maybe 50 🙂

      Like

       
  7. Mary

    May 26, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    I do think that many young people do not respect ‘age.’ Often this appreciation / respect comes with time and experience & some passing of years as well when a person realizes that someday he/she too will be OLD.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      May 26, 2013 at 8:31 pm

      I know! But, sometimes people, themselves fear age and squander their lives suppressing the openness of youth, both in themselves and the people and events around them.
      Wisdom starts at all ages, and yes you are right it does often come to fruition when we start collecting Social Security and praying more frequently. 🙂

      Like

       
  8. bonniejtoomey2013

    May 26, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    I really understand how you could feeL The Cahange Of Perspective, A Lovely Realization And Reflection.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      May 27, 2013 at 12:35 am

      Seems to be ongoing eh? Thank you.

      Like

       
  9. Anna :o]

    May 30, 2013 at 7:32 am

    Beautiful words and reflection of gaining knowledge throughout maturity.

    In my childhood age was indeed respected – but as your rightfully illustrate -‘old age’ was not understood by young things – it was if those older and wiser were somehow mean and sinister – someone to be afraid of.

    As I grew I realised adults had tasted the richness of life and how I loved to (and still do) listen to the stories they could tell.

    Anna :o]

    Like

     
  10. ZQ

    May 30, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    Thank You Anna. I enjoyed your comment.

    Like

     
  11. Vuong

    June 4, 2013 at 2:45 am

    “from raindrop to stream”– great line! Vuong.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      June 4, 2013 at 2:30 pm

      Thank you Vuong

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
