RSS

Note from a Beholder

07 Jul

 

Who knows

as I sit in anxious state awaiting the “Godot”

hoping He never shows

Like a sparkle in the grass

asking me if I care to go?

So I deny its invitation

and enjoy the sparkle

as all sparkles, go.

Who Knows

as I move in trepidation,

awaiting for the fulfillment of my prayers

not recognizing them, when they have been heard?

A shadow on the sky, asking me, to abandon fear.

So I deny its invitation

and watch a faceless shadow

descend and re-appear.

Who knows,

The mysteries I attribute to the “Soul?”

If followed, I accept its maze.

If understood, I accepted its direction.

Who remembers what can go through the eye of a needle?

Only the sparkle, the shadow,

and the beholder’s soul.

eye of the needle

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2013 in ignorance, Love, notes, Poetry, religion, Sittting still, Zen

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Note from a Beholder

  1. Mary

    July 7, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    Some invitations are definitely better denied! The journey of a soul is filled with mystery indeed. I like your idea of a maze, and as I work through my own journey through life I am hoping that I am on a path in the maze that does not end up in a dead end. Also thinking about the elements of ‘sparkle’ and ‘shadow.’ Opposites everyone has, I think.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      July 7, 2013 at 5:31 pm

      Yes.
      There are no dead ends in this maze just choices that need to be made without illusion. Hoping, in the right direction, it “poofs” into “what maze?” 🙂
      Always glad to hear from you and thank you.

      Like

       
  2. Audrey Howitt

    July 7, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    The ephemeral always accepts and remembers–even when he cannot–so enjoyed this!

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      July 8, 2013 at 8:33 pm

      Thank you Audrey. I had to look up “ephemeral” :-)…yes.
      The one that came to mind quickly (well, I did have to digest the definition), was one of my favorites.
      HAMLET: “To be, or not to be–that is the question:
      Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer
      The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune
      Or to take arms against a sea of troubles
      And by opposing end them…”

      Like

       
  3. Talon

    July 7, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    There was a fatalistic quality to this that really captured my imagination. Indeed, who does know?

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      July 8, 2013 at 8:35 pm

      Isn’t that great it makes us all even 🙂
      Thank you

      Like

       
  4. Sherry Marr

    July 8, 2013 at 1:46 am

    I especially like your closing stanza…….the beholder’s soul……..

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      July 8, 2013 at 8:36 pm

      Thank you Sherry, me too 🙂

      Like

       
  5. Jennifer Zach Flecher

    July 10, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    lovely wonders.

    😉

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
