RSS

Just Before we met (An Echo in C sharp)

01 Sep

Ignoring your past being born anew,

in replica of the lake and the snow,

at my feet or in my dream, you did fall.

Whizzing through the clouds passing in the blue

rain drops, and crystal hail sputtering and bouncing

on the sidewalk, then, off my umbrella too!

How could I have caught you, with all my faults?

I saw you landing. I stretched out my hands

to break your fall. Stinging my palms, slipping,

I watched you roll and fall absorbed into sand.

I almost had you. In my reaction I could not grasp.

And, in that instant, on that contact

my late response became my whole life.

I still go by the  place I dropped you;

to introduce myself  before you melted.

To say, that we came from the same place,

just before we met.

Hands clasped in dry clouds, seeking what I have lost,

mis-understanding love’s eternity;

in a common heart without despair.

 

 
19 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2013 in Friendship, Love, poems, Poetry, thoughts

 

Tags: ,

19 responses to “Just Before we met (An Echo in C sharp)

  1. brian miller

    September 1, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    my late response became my whole life….and the returning to that same spot…both of those thoughts are very emotive for me…i think in some ways we all have those places…

    Like

     
  2. Nataša Dolenc (@Natasek86)

    September 1, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    such delicate and tender imagery.

    Like

     
  3. ZQ

    September 1, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Yes, sometimes i found it difficult to let things go that were not there 🙂
    Always enjoy your visit

    Like

     
  4. ZQ

    September 1, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    Thank you Natasa 😉

    Like

     
  5. Mary

    September 1, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Yes, sometimes we do wonder, I think, how we ‘catch’ someone when we see our own faults so strongly. There is, however, a lot of mystery in this poem; as it seems that the one caught is no longer there. I like a lot of the lines in this poem… For example, this one:

    To say, that we came from the same place,

    just before we met.

    Always so good to see you in the Pantry.

    Like

     
  6. Sherry Blue Sky

    September 1, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    Such impact! Looking back, wondering how it was that so much seemed to slip from our grasp……..when some of it must have been intended to do the opposite. Sigh. I think of that old saw “too soon old, too late smart”……..we of the romantic hearts salute you!

    Like

     
  7. ZQ

    September 1, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    Thank You Mary I always have tea ready for you and Sherry. 🙂

    Like

     
  8. ZQ

    September 1, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    Yes. Thank you sherry.

    Like

     
  9. Mary

    September 1, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    Thaks, ZQ!!

    Like

     
  10. Kay Salady

    September 2, 2013 at 8:12 am

    Stunning imagery. I could actually see everything in my mind’s eye. Thank you for this sweetly romantic piece.

    Like

     
  11. ZQ

    September 2, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    Thank you kay

    Like

     
  12. dsnake1

    September 2, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    opportunity once gone is…well, you have to wait for it again and it could be a damn long time coming. that’s what i thought this poem is all about. 😀

    How could I have caught you, with all my faults?” : great line, man.

    Like

     
  13. Gabriella

    September 2, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    Interesting idea: revisit the moment before we met the loved one. You conveyed a lot of nostalgia n this poem.

    Like

     
  14. Poet Laundry

    September 2, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    Such a somber reflecting, that, I think, many can relate to. I like how you’ve woven the imagery to convey the feeling…blue, rain, slipping, dropped…nicely done.

    Like

     
  15. ZQ

    September 3, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Geesh, I see you had your coffee 🙂 Glad to see You.
    (名) 新加坡

    Like

     
  16. ZQ

    September 3, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Thank you Gabriella

    Like

     
  17. ZQ

    September 3, 2013 at 12:40 am

    Thank you (Jenn?)

    Like

     
  18. Talon

    September 3, 2013 at 1:41 am

    Infused with tenderness and nostalgia…and the frailty of being human.

    Like

     
  19. ZQ

    September 3, 2013 at 2:03 am

    Thank you Talon

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
