RSS

An Autumn Juxtaposition: The Spiders In The House Plant

15 Sep

 

My houseplants have been outside all summer.

 I never know why, but, they bloom, mushroom, and grow faster then I.

The moon white as vinilla sends an evening chill

precluding an early frost, at dawn.

They must now, be carried inside. They always adorn the kitchen’s light

hanging from skylight windows;

 safely unscathed from winters might.

Happily, we welcomed each other going inside.

 

Carrying them through the porch, opening the kitchen door,

I  heard the chitter chatter of a tiny voice. Barely heard but definitely noticed;

forcing me to closely look at the plant as I quickly put it on the floor.

I was a little concerned about my state of mind. A worry since I was born.

I followed  a low key voice, peering cautiously through the leaves

 I spied a tiny silver spider web laced between the green.

On closer inspection, I saw two critters with long little legs;

One in the center and the other on the furthest edge.

the one speaking, in the center,  standing on four legs

was trying, I believe,  to introduce himself .

 

 “hey!  Big Guy! Bigger of biggest fellows!

I apologize for my intrusion, speaking for the  half of which I, represent.

This of course, includes only me, for the other half has not yet spoken.

I am asking for your support, in avoiding the outside tonight.

For me, Big Guy, you show wisdom and insight.

Saving us, where we might die; along with this plants caretakers,

 may I humbly add, our parents and grandparents, came from these parts.

We’re third generation from this house inside.”

 

Startled as he spoke I fell dumb as a fence post.

 “Hey you! Snap out of it! Hey! Big Guy!  Bigger of biggest fellows!

 I’ve  just heard from the other half. The Mrs. and I, have agreed to plea.

To sit between the leaves; to quietly enjoy the season go by.”

Aghast, with natural concern, I pushed the plant away from my face.

Carrying it, I quickly went inside. Making a pot a coffee setting a cup in the saucer with a spoon

I decided to introduce myself. Placing the plant on the kitchen table,

and facing the shinny silver web, we started talking away.

Incessantly. Reminiscing, laughing,

drinking fresh coffee and spinning silver threads, we spoke about our parents,

 grandparents, and all visiting inhabitants,

as the dimming  light  of  Autumn went flying by.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2013 in Poetry

 

19 responses to “An Autumn Juxtaposition: The Spiders In The House Plant

  1. skipmars

    September 15, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    Ha! Wonderful story and concept! I’m thinking of bringing a poinsettia and a pineapple plant plus two hanging ferns in. I know there’s at least a spider in one — who knows how many Whos? Really enjoyed this one!

    Like

     
  2. bmiller007 (@bmiller007)

    September 15, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    what a cool little story of connection…and how even the plants or someone much different than us has a story that we can share in if we are willing to take that time at the table with them….

    Like

     
  3. Audrey Howitt

    September 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    I really enjoyed this piece! Inventive and so entertaining!

    Like

     
  4. Talon

    September 15, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Whimsical and beautiful…I almost (stress the almost) like the bugs after reading this! 🙂

    Like

     
  5. Mary

    September 15, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    This warms my heart. I really liked this delightful story in your poem.

    Like

     
  6. a spirit of simplicity

    September 15, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    Love this!! I bring my houseplants indoors when the cool weather comes as well. I’m not sure I will be quite as friendly with any hanger-onners though. I like the last line…autumn flying by.

    Like

     
  7. ZQ

    September 15, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    Thank you sir.

    Like

     
  8. ZQ

    September 16, 2013 at 12:04 am

    Thank you Brian, and, yes!

    Like

     
  9. ZQ

    September 16, 2013 at 12:05 am

    Thank you Audrey 🙂

    Like

     
  10. ZQ

    September 16, 2013 at 12:07 am

    hahaha I understand…up here in NH we try not to kill anything we can’t eat 🙂

    Like

     
  11. ZQ

    September 16, 2013 at 12:08 am

    Thank you Mary 🙂

    Like

     
  12. ZQ

    September 16, 2013 at 12:19 am

    Ya, my daughter felt that way when she would help me until -~~~~~: I would tell her “they don’t bite” and off she would go without her
    “What-Everrrr” 🙂

    Like

     
  13. Sherry Marr

    September 16, 2013 at 12:57 am

    This is an absolute delight to read. I especially relate to “a concern of mine since I was born”. Hee hee, me, too, kiddo! Loved this little tale. I just brought my two jade plants in from the porch railing too. It’s a Sign. Another fall is upon us. Yippee!

    Like

     
  14. grapeling

    September 16, 2013 at 5:35 am

    Good conversation to eavesdrop – thanks for letting us listen in ~ M

    Like

     
  15. ZQ

    September 17, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    Yippee Sherry Marr…Thank you.

    Like

     
  16. ZQ

    September 17, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    🙂 my pleasure…Thank you ~M

    Like

     
  17. dsnake1

    September 17, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    you really love your houseplants. and i hope no one saw you talking to the plants. they didn’t know you were talking to the spiders. awww, never mind!

    “I was a little concerned about my state of mind. A worry since I was born.” – muahaha! i loved that! 😀

    hey man, that’s one heck of an entertaining read. thanks!

    Like

     
  18. ZQ

    September 17, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Do you get my posts on your blog? I write, I go back, and there they are, gone! Let me know!!
    Meanwhile..Thanks for your muahaha 🙂
    Oh, never mind, I just checked and my comments? well, there they were, there! You can go back to work now 🙂

    Like

     
  19. dsnake1

    September 18, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    umm, you’re confusing me. have the comments grown a life of their own?
    ah, i know. i have turned on comment moderation (tons of spam, you know) and it’s just that i posted them a bit late. (held up by work and all that, it’s always the work) 😀

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
