RSS

~A Reality Sandwich and An Existential Ice Cold- Beer~

03 Nov

Two in the afternoon

in Ashland, New Hampshire;

having a burger

with a thick slice of onion,

mustard on the side,

and a cold bottle of beer.

Looking out a large pane window,

everything

from where I sit,

looks fine.

You pass by noticed.

I wave to you with a smile.

and I?

Unnoticed,

before we equally

looked away

and disappeared.

Not, of course,

my sandwich

and an old flame

puffing out clouds

 of smoke,

doused with an ice-cold beer.

 

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “~A Reality Sandwich and An Existential Ice Cold- Beer~

  1. poetrypea

    November 3, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    very vivid image. thanks for sharing.

    Like

     
  2. Mary

    November 3, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    I wonder if sometimes it is better to be unnoticed. You wrote the scene well and could feel the tension.

    Like

     
  3. Brian Miller

    November 3, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    see you got me hungry for a beer and burger now…smiles…it is good you noticed and acknowledged her whether she did the same for you or not…even if the past was rough…it astounds me at times how some dont even do that…

    Like

     
  4. Ruth

    November 4, 2013 at 1:48 am

    it happens, eh? 😉 wonderfully written snapshot moment

    Like

     
  5. dsnake1

    November 4, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    i loved your little vignettes of life. understated, but very real.
    like Brian said, you got me hungry for a burger and a beer. especially the ice-cold beer.

    PS. thanks to google maps, i went for a tour of Ashland, NH. 🙂

    Like

     
  6. Sumana Roy

    November 4, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    nice sketch of life……

    Like

     
  7. ZQ

    November 10, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Sorry I’m late with my response…haven’t been in the right place lately.
    Thank you for your visit.

    Like

     
  8. ZQ

    November 10, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    🙂 nice to see you

    Like

     
  9. ZQ

    November 10, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Sorry I’m late with my response…haven’t been in the right place lately.
    Thank you.

    Like

     
  10. ZQ

    November 10, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Sorry I’m late with my response…haven’t been in the right place lately.
    Thank you eh 🙂

    Like

     
  11. ZQ

    November 10, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Sorry I’m late with my response…haven’t been in the right place lately.
    Thank you, see you on campus 🙂

    Like

     
  12. ZQ

    November 10, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Sorry I’m late with my response…haven’t been in the right place lately.
    Thank you… 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
