RSS

The Night Before Breakfast

05 Jan

Caged at the edge of a forest without boundaries,

the wind chimes are still.

Youth is holding its breath.

The night squirrels feast and fly.

The owls turn their heads,

judging their distance from prey to sky.

I must make it through the night,

I must make it,

not just try.

Key in mind, now in sight.

I make haste

with unforeseen insensibility,

up the path of maturity;

as an invited house guest,

for reflection and a warm breakfast

before my escape, sorrowless

and free.

  

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2014 in Existential, Pine Cone Diaries, Poetry, Zen

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “The Night Before Breakfast

  1. brian miller

    January 5, 2014 at 4:45 pm

    interesting contrast in the opening line….caged/boudariless….we are just visitors here…if we keep that in mind we might just make it…i like the nature touches in this as well….

    Like

     
  2. Sherry Blue Sky

    January 5, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    I LOVE the wind chimes and owls in this poem, kiddo. And definitely relate to having to make it through the night, and the making haste up the path of maturity. Yoiks. Nailed it!

    Like

     
  3. Sabra Bowers

    January 5, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    I like your poem and its nature images and reflection on self. I’d like to be sorrowless and free.

    Like

     
  4. Mary

    January 5, 2014 at 11:47 pm

    I think sometimes just making it through the night is an accomplishment. Not always easy, but necessary. Hope your New Year is starting out well, ZQ.

    Like

     
  5. poetrypea

    January 6, 2014 at 2:48 am

    Your poem makes me glad that I don’t understand the emotions expressed, to be there in that place would terrify me.

    Like

     
  6. dsnake1

    January 6, 2014 at 9:16 am

    looks like a frightful journey.(as growing up can be).
    i really liked this : “I must make it through the night,
    I must make it,
    not just try.”

    good vibes, my friend! 🙂

    Like

     
  7. Stormcat

    January 6, 2014 at 10:46 am

    “escape, sorrowless and free” says it all for me. I long for that freedom. The freedom to come and go no matter the consequence.

    Like

     
  8. ZQ

    January 12, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    Nature is a great teacher. 🙂

    Like

     
  9. ZQ

    January 12, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    yes, but, the most exciting is the transition beyond maturity …wisdom…I have to buckle-up 🙂

    Like

     
  10. ZQ

    January 12, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    Thank you.

    Like

     
  11. ZQ

    January 12, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    as my Father would say “wash your hands and face and be polite” you can come and go as you wish. 🙂

    Like

     
  12. ZQ

    January 12, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    late as becoming accustom by me…moving a little slow lately…thank you 🙂

    Like

     
  13. ZQ

    January 12, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    Hmmmm

    Like

     
  14. ZQ

    January 12, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    Thank you Mary and also with you.

    Like

     
  15. Sherry Blue Sky

    January 15, 2014 at 10:17 pm

    Hee hee, I love that – Buckle Up!!!!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
