RSS

The Rope Is On Fire (a song in the key of D)

16 Aug

I was born from the light of a lovers’ miscue

In the gentleness of a mother to be

With a man she once knew.

 

I came out left, but I made it out alright.

So don’t ask me to chase that man

Or kill the Lover’s light.

 

What you say you see, I’ve never seen;

Only your presence and always what it means.

Yes, the rope you’re climbing is on fire!

 

There are doors that swing both open and closed

And your greeting is always the same

 for them and for those.

 

It’s embarrassing for you to be here with me;

While suitors and lovers in the parlor could be.

The rope you’re climbing is on fire!

 

 

Then you say what is it? What else could it be!

Then you say it’s not yours! Who else’s could it be?

And then you say what you want!

 

Now, who could ever have that?

You say what you need! 

You already have that.

 

Even your angel shouted, goodbye!

The rope you’re climbing is on fire!

The rope you’re climbing is on fire!

 

There’s always a light, no matter the view

And what you name it, I guess, is up to you.

But it ends where it begins and starts nowhere.

 

Your grip on the rope is frozen there.

Follow me through these changes

That are taking place without suffering or sorrow.

 

Let it be! So be it. Let it go!

Land on the moment,

It’s infinity’s floor.

 

I see what I do!

What else could I have done?

I’ve made it through! What else could I have done?

 

And you say it’s not enough! How much more can that be?

And you say it’s too tough! How much tougher can it be

When the fire and the rope run out?

 

The rope you’re climbing is on fire!

The rope you’re climbing is on fire!

The rope we’re climbing is on fire,

 

So let’s get down, down, down.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2014 in Poetry

 

Tags:

3 responses to “The Rope Is On Fire (a song in the key of D)

  1. kaykuala

    August 16, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    There’s no two ways about it You reap what you sow. He should be made responsible for what he did. So no one person must suffer alone. Wonderful write ZQ! Simple but brilliantly thought out! I like your style!

    Hank

    Like

     
  2. ZQ

    August 16, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    Thanks Hank. Nice to see you on a Saturday night… shouldn’t you be out dancing 🙂

    Like

     
  3. Sherry Blue Sky

    August 17, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    Well this intrigues me very much. I resonate with the doors that both open and close. Ha! Love “land on the moment, it’s infinity’s floor”……very cool write, kiddo, and am wishing I knew the backstory!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
