RSS

An Autumn Rush

07 Sep

In an autumn rain, dripping trees

Shake off summer leaves to cushion my path.

Some circle and drift, falling softly in my hair.

 

They, accompanying their colors,

Bright orange, reds, and yellow-green,

Crown me with a passing season’s wreath.

 

A northern New Hampshire wind sifts through the pines

Steadily. I continue to exhale gray smoke from my cigarette

With Your memory.

 

 I slide through the Notch, soaking wet, cigarette still lit,

Chasing a summer’s Love

Before my path begins to freeze.

 
44 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2014 in Beginnings, Love, New Hampshire, Pine Cone Diaries, Poetry, Zen

 

Tags: , , ,

44 responses to “An Autumn Rush

  1. Rallentanda

    September 7, 2014 at 8:25 am

    This is beautiful . Your poem evokes that first slight chill feeling of Autumn and the colour change of the leaves You made me feel like a smoke….(bad man !:)

    Like

     
  2. brian miller

    September 7, 2014 at 8:29 am

    nice step through the seasons in this…i love the colors of fall…and the crown of all the colors is a very cool touch in this…

    Like

     
  3. Mary

    September 7, 2014 at 9:00 am

    I love the idea of trees shaking off leaves to cushion one’s path; and oh, keep chasing that summer love….I hope winter will hold off for a long, long time. Smiles.

    Like

     
  4. dsnake1

    September 7, 2014 at 9:20 am

    exquisite imagery, my friend.
    there are just 2 seasons over here : hot or rainy. 🙂

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 5:26 pm

      Kind, my friend and send me a moon cake 2 Lawrence Ct. Belmont NH 03220 heheh

      Like

       
  5. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    September 7, 2014 at 9:23 am

    The season autumn have that feeling of death and end.. I really like how you weaved the end of love to the imagery of autumn leaves..

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 5:21 pm

      Björn, remember my notes on writing under any influence was for MY arrogant benefit, Fu**k my reader. I wanted to be read though, so I edited sober. It was painful, but, coherent enough to reflect the hidden talent, that really needed to be heard. I wasn’t cool anymore, just serious about becoming a writer.

      ..Release your genius.
      I am familiar and know the your first response and salute, save it! I encourage you! 🙂

      Like

       
  6. Gabriella

    September 7, 2014 at 9:53 am

    This is a beautiful poem, ZQ. Autumn seems to induce nostalgia and reflection.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 5:01 pm

      Thank you G. Always nice to hear from you.

      Like

       
  7. Sumana Roy

    September 7, 2014 at 9:58 am

    i like the soft, rich, sad yet pleasant words in tune with the season…

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 4:56 pm

      Always nice to hear from you. 🙂

      Like

       
  8. alan1704

    September 7, 2014 at 10:19 am

    Chasing a summers love – lovely image and beautiful words that really come alive.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 4:52 pm

      Weren’t we all there at some point in our lives? I remember hitchhiking (90 miles round trip) to Hampton Beach just to spend 45 minutes with the one ( met twice) I Loved, as a freshman in High School…She did welcomed me, actually, it was just an acknowledgement of my presence, but, wasn’t really interested in a four eye geek that would do such a stupid thing 🙂
      Winter chased me then, until spring 🙂

      Like

       
  9. Nissa Annakindt

    September 7, 2014 at 10:30 am

    A nice autumn vision which I liked even though I’m not done with summer chores yet. Oh, that reminds me, I must go out and capture some sheep for selling during deer-hunting season.

    Somehow even the cigarette adds to the autumn imagery even though I’m no big fan of the things. Great poem!

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 4:46 pm

      Yup, I have farm friends still haying and milking… not shearing or selling but raising calves for production before our winter

      Like

       
  10. Grace

    September 7, 2014 at 10:38 am

    I like the seasonal passages in your words ~ Good one ZQ ~

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 4:44 pm

      Always nice to hear from you, Grace, a respectable artist

      Like

       
  11. Susan

    September 7, 2014 at 10:58 am

    I feel the participation, though the cigarette is calculated to keep the surroundings and change from breaking in to an unguarded heart. Unfreeze! Such beauty known, would be transformming.

    Like

     
  12. Nataša Dolenc

    September 7, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    lovely autumn images and a memory of love, keeping it alive.

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 4:43 pm

      Isn’t that we try to do? Always nice to hear from you.

      Like

       
  13. Gillena Cox

    September 7, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    luv the way the season change caresses you; have a nice Sunday; happy you linked up at my blog

    much love…

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 4:42 pm

      Luv…<3

      Like

       
  14. kaykuala

    September 7, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    There is always the wonderful memories that linger on not affected by changes of the seasons.Wonderful write ZQ!

    Hank

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 4:41 pm

      Always nice to hear from you, Hank.

      Like

       
  15. claudia

    September 7, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    a lot of emotions in this piece… the path…cigarette…the memories…

    Like

     
    • ZQ

      September 7, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      Always nice to hear from you.

      Like

       
  16. dabrnone

    September 7, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    Autumn…a favorite season of mine. The poem is beautiful…..colors and imagery.

    Like

     
  17. whimsygizmo

    September 7, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    This is just lovely.

    Like

     
  18. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)

    September 7, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    Fall, always has me reflecting on life. It reminds me of a lost love…the chill and rustle of his leaving.

    Like

     
  19. Poet Laundry

    September 7, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    I really like how you capture the passing of a season here ZQ.

    Like

     
  20. Helen

    September 7, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    Lovely poetry .. northern New Hampshire wind in the pines sounds soothing ~ much like the wind that blows through our Cascade Mountain High Desert pines.

    Like

     
  21. georgeplace2013

    September 7, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    “In an autumn rain, dripping trees
    Shake off summer leaves to cushion my path”… maybe that’s what makes the memories bearable – beautiful, reflective write.

    Like

     
  22. grapeling

    September 7, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    excellent capture of mood and moment ~

    Like

     
  23. Loredana Donovan

    September 7, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    Lovely Autumn imagery ~ chasing that Summer love as it slips away too soon 🙂

    Like

     
  24. magalyguerrero

    September 7, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    I can see the colors, cloaking the leaves, dripping on fashion and bringing out knee-high boots. And I live it!

    Like

     
  25. Amrit Sinha

    September 8, 2014 at 3:20 am

    Leaves cushioning the path … very beautiful imagery 🙂

    Like

     
  26. Kerry O'Connor

    September 8, 2014 at 10:40 am

    I like how you have linked the seasonal mood to the human emotion of this piece.

    Like

     
  27. G L Meisner

    September 8, 2014 at 11:35 pm

    Oh you got my favorite season captures so well. I really enjoyed this one.

    Like

     
  28. Mama Zen

    September 9, 2014 at 11:09 am

    This is beautiful. It truly feels like Fall.

    Like

     
  29. 1sojournal

    September 9, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    Autumn is my favorite season and for many of the same reasons you have mentioned.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

     
  30. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    September 10, 2014 at 11:22 am

    “Chasing a summer’s Love

    Before my path begins to freeze.”

    The end of season as well as the end of love and passion..wonderfully done ZQ … 🙂

    Like

     
  31. Myrna

    September 10, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    Lovely poem. It touched me with sadness. You describe your path, its end, in such a beautiful way.
    Thank you for sending me your blog address. So glad to visit you here.

    Like

     
  32. vandana

    September 21, 2014 at 8:54 am

    Beautiful autumn in the offing

    Like

     
  33. jyotsnabhatia86

    October 28, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    You have created some beautiful imagery here 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
