RSS

M’Lady

14 Dec

“Once upon a time,”… that was enough

To put you to sleep in the strength of my arms.

Let me warm your hands, now, as empty as mine.

 

(Both scarred with, “when we knew each other

Way back then.” In love and young.

 

We fought the fire and the ice; both, yours and mine.

…not to burn, nor to freeze, but, to keep us safe from harm).

 

We’ve seen love

Dressed to be kissed;

Sometimes naked, sometimes, dismissed.

 

We’ve seen love

Rejecting bliss;

Whether sweet, sour, or completely amiss.

 

We’ve seen love

 Described where only a poets soul

Still perplexed, tries and dies in an effort to surmise.

 

Oh, perpetual beautiful love!

So elusive cloaked in laughter and in darkness cries.

 

I had to be the villain; stealing a kiss

With arms extended,

Wrapped in a young corrupt heart;

 

When you didn’t insist for any other gift,

Embracing the fire of Joan of Arc.

 

What did I miss?

 

My shield is torn. My armor weak from worn.

Our victories?  Defeats without blessing;

When my actions were wrong.

 

And my surrender?

You said,

It, would have made me strong.

 

 

Kneeling, I await the sword upon my shoulder.

Or, my ride through the gate of aging rusted steel,

Un-knighted, head bowed on a horse as old as I.

 

We will ride rogue in the kingdom

Of M’Lady’s dream; love lost in my youth,

Having spent its final notice.

 

Whatever I have learned about love, I have learned from you;

Patience, understanding, perseverance, diligence, loyalty and acceptance.  

 

This lesson, having acted in primal ignorance,

I ask for your forgiveness before I cannot ride again.

 

I re-approach you, walking my horse.

I, without a sword, and he, without a saddle;

To my empty throne, with only enlightened arms.

 

Buried under, covered in decaying guilt, in the soil of time lies the treasure of life

I once declined. I shovel up debris, from its burial-place, sifting through the past,

Weeding the dirt for the clue, the space, to plant a bleeding heart.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2014 in Beginnings, Friendship, Getting Old, ignorance, Love, Prose Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

22 responses to “M’Lady

  1. Gillena Cox

    December 14, 2014 at 7:52 am

    oh how you woo your sweet Lady today! luv your romantic Sunday mood; thank you for linking at my Sunday Lime

    much love…

    Like

     
  2. totomai

    December 14, 2014 at 8:14 am

    oh the colors and moods of love in one poem.

    Like

     
  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    December 14, 2014 at 8:25 am

    To me this reads more as the contrast between the harsh reality of a relationship to a the fairy-tale image of what it’s not… Splendid write 😉

    Like

     
  4. Paul F. Lenzi

    December 14, 2014 at 8:26 am

    a poetic novella

    Like

     
  5. Donna@Living From Happiness

    December 14, 2014 at 8:29 am

    a beautiful ride with and for love….what a fabulous love poem!

    Like

     
  6. Grace

    December 14, 2014 at 11:20 am

    Sweet one ZQ ~ Have a good weekend ~

    Like

     
  7. moondustwriter

    December 14, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    an honest look in the mirror. Reflecting back to the reader, the truths of love.

    Like

     
  8. Mary

    December 14, 2014 at 1:12 pm

    There are so many lessons that one learns throughout life. Sometimes they come at a great price.

    “Patience, understanding, perseverance, diligence, loyalty and acceptance.” — sometimes it takes a lifetime to learn these things. Better late than never…smiles.

    So good to see you back, ZQ.

    Like

     
  9. Sherry Blue Sky

    December 14, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    Oh. My. God. Here it all is in one heartbreaking poem – love and pain and the whole damn thing. I resonate with every word. This is a time of looking back. It hurts. It is wonderful to read your words again, ZQ. You were missed.

    Like

     
  10. Gabriella

    December 14, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Your words have the scope of an epic, a love epic.

    Like

     
  11. Torie

    December 14, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    So many layers to love. You’ve captured them well, ZQ! 🙂

    Like

     
  12. georgeplace2013

    December 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

    re-approach you, walking my horse.

    I, without a sword, and he, without a saddle;

    To my empty throne, with only enlightened arms.

    Oh My Goodness…. sigh

    Like

     
  13. humbird

    December 14, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    For me it reads like elegy….Very emotional x

    Like

     
  14. hypercryptical

    December 15, 2014 at 3:39 am

    Lovely lovely passionate write.
    Anna :o]

    Like

     
  15. oldegg

    December 15, 2014 at 5:06 am

    I wonder whether any of us will reconsider our lives and wonder at its value to others and even to ourselves. Were we more full of pride than humility? Were we more concerned with possessions than charity. Were we more concerned with power than love?

    Like

     
  16. Abin

    December 15, 2014 at 8:39 am

    this is a very moving piece with intricate and beautiful rhymes. especially loved the final few lines.very moving indeed.

    Like

     
  17. Kerry O'Connor

    December 15, 2014 at 10:12 am

    This a strong and romantic poem, ZQ. I enjoyed the cohesion given by the use of form.

    Like

     
  18. Laura Hegfield

    December 15, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    Such a tender love story!

    Like

     
  19. glmeisner

    December 15, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    Wonderful story poem. so well written.

    Like

     
  20. Poet Laundry

    December 16, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    Very strong poem, ZQ. There is much to be learned from love, isn’t there?

    Like

     
  21. kaykuala h

    December 17, 2014 at 5:36 am

    There is so much to give and likewise so much to receive! This can only come true when in love. The reciprocity is overwhelming! Wonderful take ZQ!

    Hank

    Like

     
  22. Locomente

    December 18, 2014 at 7:07 am

    So so lovely…
    Loved these words :”Whatever I have learned about love, I have learned from you;”

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
