RSS

The Bell Without A Clanger

04 Oct

I left my house this morning in confusion and anger, about a life

that has become greater in my mind, than who I am. Looming in illusion,

unable to crack the barrier between love, and that of strife.

It was a dreary and cloudy day when I walked the path

on dew wet grass leading into the forest. Pushing ferns,

I brushed aside pine branches, crushing small pine cones, as I passed.

Entering a small clearing, I sat on a freshly cut stump

of a rather large oak tree. My mind, frantic and racing in frenzy

I heard a faint thud, and then, a very pronounced thump.

Quickly looking around and finding nothing, I put my head in my hands

placing my elbows on my knees. I suddenly noticed a small brass bell quivering below me.

I kicked it aside thoughtlessly across the flat ground into a divot of sand.

As quickly as I had kicked it, it rolled back with a thump at my feet.

“Good morning kind sir.” I heard in a hollow tone. Startled I looked around

to see who was approaching me.

There was no one to be found.

“Excuse me, good sir!” I heard again,

Clearly thinking I was losing my mind, hearing voices I could not see.

“Ahem, gracious sir, I am, at your feet!”

I looked down and saw the small brass bell speak.

I immediately said a small prayer and blessed myself

saying a rushed good-bye to the mind I had

and hoped, somewhere along the line,

in time, we again, this brain and I will meet.

Having totally lost all common sense, I replied with a smile,

“And a good morning to you too, and may I ask,

what in heaven’s name are you doing here by yourself?”

“I have lost my clanger and without a sound

I have been thrown away…

unable to be found.

I heard you coming, but, my first impression was disappointment;

to see you so much taller and bigger than I;

you look like a bonger and a banger,

and I am much too small for that!”

“Regardless,” I said with a smile, as I picked up the small bell,

“you can stay in my pocket and perhaps, I can try, who can tell.”

Bell in pocket, I silently turned and walked away.

The sun began to shine and my path opened wide.

Ever since that morning I seemed to have escaped that illusion

of being bigger and taller or even smaller than I am.

In fact, I am feeling like nothing at all!

With the small bell in my pocket

without the sound of clamor, humbled and silenced

quiet and comfortable… peace with myself

in love without confusion or anger

as that empty bell without a clanger.

 
27 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2015 in Prose Poetry, short story, Zen

 

Tags: , , ,

27 responses to “The Bell Without A Clanger

  1. Sanaa Rizvi

    October 4, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    Deep!! There is such a lot of beauty in your verse 😀

    Like

     
  2. Mary

    October 4, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    A bell without a clanger perhaps is a shell of a bell.

    Like

     
  3. moondustwriter

    October 4, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    sometimes we need more bell less clanger don’t we. I love this story that has a message – one we can all take to heart.

    Like

     
  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    October 4, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    I think we need a little less clangers sometimes.. there are those who can’t avoid hollering

    Like

     
  5. scotthastiepoet

    October 4, 2015 at 3:49 pm

    Love the metaphor of the bell without a clanger here – humbled and silenced

    quiet and comfortable… peace with myself…” Perfect! With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

    Like

     
  6. Sherry Marr

    October 4, 2015 at 5:01 pm

    What a totally cool story. LOVE the title, especially so as the closing line……..I was struck by your lines “confusion…….. about a life that has become greater in my mind than who I am.” I loved this story and the resulting calmness with which you emerged from the woods. Always nice to find a bell who speaks truth. Smiles.

    Like

     
  7. Susan

    October 4, 2015 at 5:21 pm

    A fable of great proportion! Everything is relative, but not everyone finds a talkative bell without its clangor. What a fine poem!

    Like

     
  8. Donna@Living From Happiness

    October 4, 2015 at 7:27 pm

    This is a perfect story to publish…such a wonderful message…and deep. Yes there is peace without all the sound and noise.

    Like

     
  9. gillena

    October 4, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    OMG, what a delightful read. You can tell me a story every day. I’ll listen

    Thanks for dropping by my Sunday Lime today

    Much love…

    Like

     
  10. x

    October 4, 2015 at 7:53 pm

    a little less clanging is not a bad thing. and hey if that is what it takes to find your own clarity

    Like

     
  11. gailatthefarm

    October 4, 2015 at 8:07 pm

    Companion in silence…maybe I should remove the clanger from my bell. This was a delightful piece full of wisdom and fun.

    Thanks for visiting.

    Like

     
  12. kanzensakura

    October 4, 2015 at 8:20 pm

    On the surface, a charming story. But on a deeper level, what a wonderful metaphor for listening more to what is around us than to always listen to the noise in our heads. Years ago, a friend was putting some things out for the trash. In the box was a small, lovely engraved brass bell. I asked if it could have it and my friend said, it doesn’t make any noise. I still have that bell and it has accompanied me in its silent beauty gracing my various homes in various places. It simply is and that is enough for me. I truly liked this story.

    Like

     
  13. Myrna Rosa

    October 4, 2015 at 8:34 pm

    Beautiful story.

    Like

     
  14. ManicDdaily

    October 4, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    A super sweet story! Very nicely imagined and told. Thanks. k.

    Like

     
  15. Mama Zen

    October 4, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    What a marvelous story!

    Like

     
  16. thotpurge

    October 4, 2015 at 9:51 pm

    Like the mute bell metaphor… maybe if we can mute the noise inside us, peace will be found!

    Like

     
  17. kaykuala h

    October 4, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    peace with myself
    in love without confusion or anger
    as that empty bell without a clanger.

    One can well reconcile oneself to live life to the fullest eventually!

    Hank

    Like

     
  18. Susie Clevenger (@wingsobutterfly)

    October 5, 2015 at 1:31 am

    A great story…love the ending. I always enjoy hearing someone read their work.

    Like

     
  19. Sumana Roy

    October 5, 2015 at 2:53 am

    to be in peace with oneself is so much comfortable…love your story…

    Like

     
  20. dsnake1

    October 5, 2015 at 8:07 am

    wow, quite a moving tale, good sir! you have found your inner peace. 🙂
    i am reminded of neil armstrong’s quote from the moon, when he blotted out Earth with his thumb. he said he didn’t feel like a giant. he felt very small.

    Like

     
  21. 1sojournal

    October 5, 2015 at 8:37 am

    Wonderful piece of whimsy with hard earned truth within it,

    Elizabeth
    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2015/10/04/the-gap-between-belief-and-experience/

    Like

     
  22. Jae Rose

    October 5, 2015 at 8:49 am

    It’s always good to have a bell in our pocket whether we are ready to ring it or not…

    Like

     
  23. Panchali

    October 5, 2015 at 10:28 am

    Beautiful …give a soft tap, and you will get a kind of resounding peal.

    Like

     
  24. glmeisner

    October 5, 2015 at 5:10 pm

    Very interesting finding peace in a bell that would not ring.

    Like

     
  25. humbird

    October 6, 2015 at 12:49 pm

    Haha! It was wonderful! You open for me a new word/world of ‘clangers’. Humans always like to compare, to know precisely about things while more important – to be one, big or small.

    Like

     
  26. Magaly Guerrero

    October 6, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    Ah, the thought of being “in love without confusion or anger”. But with a bit of clanger though… just a bit, for those special days. 😉

    Like

     
  27. tsdwords

    October 10, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    Oh, nicely done! What a clever way to bring peace into life. Remove the clanger. I’ll remember that *wink*

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
