RSS

A Lost Silver Dollar

14 Mar

     The bottle stood full on the refrigerator for hours… days… weeks and a few months. Every time I looked at it, opening the refrigerator door, I thought and sang “Don’t think twice, it’s Alright ” by Bob Dylan— But, eventually, I took it down and placed it on the counter, found a clean glass, placed a few cubes of ice into it— and poured two fingers—stared out the kitchen window, seeing the full moon —to a lost silver dollar—I raised my glass.

Katie3

  Let dying heart ache

Release all blame and accept

The seedling of I

 

Note of entertainment:

Although I enjoy Bob Dylan’s singing his song,I also like Ramblin’ Jack Elliot’s version to represent the atmosphere I was in  🙂

 
24 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2016 in Haibun Poetry, Haiku, Love, Outlaw, Poetry, thoughts, Zen

 

Tags: , , ,

24 responses to “A Lost Silver Dollar

  1. whimsygizmo

    March 14, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    Moon as lost silver dollar? Whew. FANTASTIC.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Glenn Buttkus

    March 14, 2016 at 6:26 pm

    A perfect companion to the video; intriguing & clever. On the second reading, some of the emotions wore off on me; folk poetics with a tip of the Stetson to the Beats; killer cool.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. writersdream9

    March 14, 2016 at 6:41 pm

    This has a wild west feel. Very good!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Tatius

    March 14, 2016 at 7:13 pm

    Touching and sad but nice tribute, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Grace

    March 14, 2016 at 7:29 pm

    I raise my glass too ~ I specially like this line: The seedling of I

    Thanks for joining Haibun Monday ~

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. steph

    March 14, 2016 at 7:49 pm

    Nicely done. Sad. Well-captured that feeling of finally giving in. And, of course… great song.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. Mary

    March 14, 2016 at 8:22 pm

    Really like your original approach, ZQ!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Margaret Elizabeth Bednar

    March 14, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. thotpurge

    March 14, 2016 at 8:30 pm

    The lost silver dollar… the moon does talk to our most poignant aches and losses! You’ve built up the prose beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. Waltermarks

    March 14, 2016 at 9:04 pm

    I’m glad you found your friend again, (the moon). Always wondered who’s face that was. It looks a little like Bob Dylan.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. 1sojournal

    March 14, 2016 at 10:57 pm

    This is a strong piece of writing, packed with subtle emotions, so hard to express. Love the Dylan song, and sang it for months myself….

    Elizabeth
    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2016/03/13/breathing-lesson/

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. Miss Stacy

    March 14, 2016 at 11:57 pm

    you stole a little piece of my heart with the bit about Bob Dylan…his music and lyricism is some of the most amazing modern poetry, in my humble opinion.

    this is a write that resonates long after it’s read. and i think it’s perfectly fine that, after all that time, you’re okay with being ‘I.’

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    March 15, 2016 at 1:06 am

    This is a unique take.. The lost silver dollar, the seedling of I… Truly wonderful..

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. gillena

    March 15, 2016 at 4:05 am

    Luv your silver dollar moon and the renewing of self through acceptance
    Thank you for linking in at my Sunday Lime this week

    Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  15. lillian

    March 15, 2016 at 8:16 am

    This is beautiful. Raising the glass to the rebirthing of I. Powerful piece for those in relationships lost.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  16. Jae Rose

    March 15, 2016 at 9:23 am

    I agree with the others – the seedling of I is a stunning line..the sense of melancholy and giving into that glass had me worried however

    Liked by 1 person

     
  17. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

    March 15, 2016 at 2:56 pm

    Powerful writing

    Like

     
  18. petrujviljoen

    March 15, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    Just wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  19. Walt Wojtanik

    March 15, 2016 at 5:00 pm

    A vision well expressed, Z. Sad and lingering.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  20. trishwrites1

    March 15, 2016 at 5:48 pm

    I must say this took me back, and the anguish in it got to me

    Like

     
  21. Sherry Marr

    March 16, 2016 at 12:55 pm

    “Release all blame and accept the seedling of I.” Such self compassion. I love the heart you reveal in this poem, kiddo.

    Like

     
  22. Magaly Guerrero

    March 16, 2016 at 3:47 pm

    The last bit of your haiku tells all kinds of tales…

    Like

     
  23. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)

    March 16, 2016 at 6:23 pm

    I love the haibun, and also much enjoyed Ramblin’ Jack. (Can sure see how he got his name.)

    Like

     
  24. Bodhirose

    March 16, 2016 at 8:36 pm

    I didn’t see the moon in this as the lost silver dollar but maybe I’m missing something. I thought it was somehow connected to the woman’s face superimposed over a coin. I see her as your lost silver dollar, ZQ. I love the haiku that feels so tender in its acceptance of yourself as “The seedling of I”…no longer “we.”

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
