RSS

Haibun Monday June 20th.: Is This the Day Here

20 Jun

Time Here:

   One of the more peaceful times in my life, right now, is sitting outside of my “cave” … (really a wonderful one large basement room with all the comfortable amenities) in Center Sandwich NH and being near the love, which carries my children near me. I understand this most— in the evening, sitting at my glass table listening to the sound of the loons on Squam Lake, watching slivers of the moon rising between full-grown maples, pine, and birch. Oh, and less I forget: the sound of all other creatures, four-legged, webbed legged or winged and the songs they sing. Although all in different keys.

   Making my time here, in… complete… simple harmony.

Rain falls everywhere

But never on my parade

Sun flag is waving

 
14 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2016 in Poetry

 

14 responses to “Haibun Monday June 20th.: Is This the Day Here

  1. Florence Dagenais

    June 20, 2016 at 11:47 pm

    My husband and I lived in North Sandwich for 10 years back in 74-84.We lived at Quinby Farm Maple Ridge Rd. across from the County Store. I’ve heard we wouldn’t even recognize it now … there’s been so much growth. But back then it was such a lovely part of the world to call home. Are you familiar with Caroline Nesbitt who lives out at Intervale. She is a writer, actress and horsewoman?

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    June 21, 2016 at 12:49 am

    I do love the sound of your critters with rain.. And that loon seems to be there with the rain.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. katiemiafrederick

    June 21, 2016 at 12:56 am

    Harmoney rains liFe from
    Birth to death..
    simple liFe
    Reigns
    Reins
    oF
    Nature..

    We
    liVE
    NoW..:)

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. thotpurge

    June 21, 2016 at 3:16 am

    Seems like heavenly solitude.. the sound of rain and all of nature joining the chorus.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. lillian

    June 21, 2016 at 7:46 am

    I was wondering when the rain would enter…..never on my parade! 🙂 Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. kanzensakura

    June 21, 2016 at 11:10 am

    Glad you have such beauteous sounds around you and so glad the rain doesn’t mar your parade!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. Walter J. Wojtanik

    June 21, 2016 at 11:55 am

    A smart rendering of the moment; the parade marches on!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Misky

    June 21, 2016 at 4:55 pm

    It sounds like perfection.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. whimsygizmo

    June 21, 2016 at 6:36 pm

    “Sun flag is waving” — YES. Love that.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)

    June 21, 2016 at 9:55 pm

    The sounds of the little animals add to the melody of the quiet and peaceful moments!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. Sherry Marr

    June 21, 2016 at 9:58 pm

    I love it. I can SEE you, sitting at your table, listening to the night creatures……..your surroundings sound beautiful – a lake, hearing the loons….so wonderful. Keep that sun flag waving, kiddo!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. writersdream9

    June 23, 2016 at 10:09 am

    I felt like I was there as I read! Terrific!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. ZQ

    June 23, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    I’ll get back to you as soon as I can 🙂

    Like

     
  14. Mish

    June 25, 2016 at 8:07 pm

    A tranquil moment you’ve described here. I like the musical element of creatures harmonizing.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
