RSS

Racing With The Devil

10 Jul

“Like stones skipped across the surface of the water we are kept skimming along the peripheral, one dimensional fringes of life. To sink is to vanish.”

Thomas Merton’s “Palace of Nowhere”

 

The fires of hell skipped through the pools of my eyes,

Skimming, dancing with repentant heart.

An Archangel flies beneath me,

Waiting for me to settle, dribble,

Waiting for me to sink.

 

I keep skipping, racing with the devil

As a reflection above the surface

Trying to erase ripple after ripple.

Until, finally running calm and blind,

I no longer see the racer.

 

Sinking, I vanished under the Winner’s wings.

Rev. 6

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2016 in Beginnings, New light/New life, Spiritual

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Racing With The Devil

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    July 10, 2016 at 12:01 pm

    When you’re running from the devil… he will always catch you in the end.

    Like

     
  2. Truedessa

    July 10, 2016 at 12:31 pm

    This sounds like a dangerous race but, I think we have all been tempted in life…

    Like

     
  3. Sherry Marr

    July 10, 2016 at 2:11 pm

    A powerful image, the Archangel flying beneath you. I know the feeling oh trying to outrun the hot breath on my heels. I am typing my fastest these days, in the race against time. I really feel this poem, my friend. We are not going under just yet though. Insh’allah.

    Like

     
  4. Jae Rose

    July 10, 2016 at 2:50 pm

    When the devil is at your back run you must..and don’t look back

    Like

     
  5. Mary

    July 10, 2016 at 4:25 pm

    Racing with the devil is always a race for one’s life.

    Like

     
  6. Donna@Living From Happiness

    July 10, 2016 at 4:52 pm

    It is always best to have that Archangel under us to catch us when we tire from racing that devil!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. oldegg

    July 10, 2016 at 7:50 pm

    He would have caught me earlier but I could run faster then.

    Like

     
  8. kaykuala h

    July 10, 2016 at 9:09 pm

    The fires of hell skipped through the pools of my eyes,
    Skimming, dancing with repentant heart.

    Classic opening ZQ. It is just that not many may realize it!

    Hank

    Like

     
  9. Hank Pelaez (@kaykuala)

    July 10, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    The fires of hell skipped through the pools of my eyes,
    Skimming, dancing with repentant heart.

    Classic opening ZQ. It is just that not many may realize it!

    Hank

    Like

     
  10. Sumana Roy

    July 10, 2016 at 11:01 pm

    i love the image of the Archangel keeping a watch waiting for the time to take under the wings…beautiful…

    Like

     
  11. Sanaa Rizvi

    July 11, 2016 at 12:46 am

    Wonderful message in your poem 🙂 so inspiring.

    Like

     
  12. dsnake1

    July 11, 2016 at 10:15 am

    what a helluva race. but i like to think that this is about the obsessions that we chase.

    Like

     
  13. Myrna Rosa

    July 11, 2016 at 12:07 pm

    Oh how beautifully, cleverly you express this race with the devil within. Nice that when we sink, there is an angel there to soothe us. I like your depiction of temptaion.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
