RSS

White Mountain Forest

31 Jul

In the reflection of sunrise light,

Tipping blades of grass with tiny crystal prisms,

Clinging dewdrops

Glitter all the colors of life—

I catch my shadow in stride, until each is one.

Both! (My shadow and I) Each, both in transition

Until we find the secret peace of the forest—

I am an early morning guest

Waking, yawning, knowing

How I will be received;

With scent of pines and wild blueberry dreams—

I will see you soon, my old friend.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “White Mountain Forest

  1. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)

    July 31, 2016 at 8:48 am

    I can sense the images spiritualism in this lovely poem 🙂
    Beautifully written.

    Like

     
  2. Sumana Roy

    July 31, 2016 at 9:58 am

    “…knowing / How I will be received;” what beauty is in this…knowing…love the intimacy with nature…..

    Like

     
  3. Kerry O'Connor

    July 31, 2016 at 10:35 am

    Each (both) in transition…
    I love that line and the whole description of man and shadow.
    Very nicely done.

    Like

     
  4. Truedessa

    July 31, 2016 at 11:40 am

    When the two side the shadow and light become one, I find myself trying to vision the meshing of self. This is a spiritual journey and my fav line, blueberry dreams are for me 🙂

    With scent of pines and wild blueberry dreams—

    Like

     
  5. Sherry Blue Sky

    July 31, 2016 at 12:23 pm

    This is so beautiful….am I remembering you buried a beloved dog in the forest? Your last line pings in my heart, and actually brings a tear.

    Like

     
  6. p.s.

    July 31, 2016 at 1:56 pm

    These are my faves:

    “Clinging dewdrops”

    “I catch my shadow in stride, until each is one.
    Both! (My shadow and I)”

    “Until we find the secret peace of the forest” … Yes, please!

    “Waking, yawning, knowing
    How I will be received;
    With scent of pines and wild blueberry dreams” … Gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. dabrnone

    July 31, 2016 at 6:23 pm

    I love this…I can see, hear and smell all of the forest…thank you!

    Like

     
  8. Laura Bloomsbury

    August 1, 2016 at 4:45 am

    so fresh and light the way you paint these words – catching your shadow in stride on an early morning walk – wish I was there

    Like

     
  9. Myrna Rosa

    August 1, 2016 at 11:16 am

    This is so beautiful. I like the connection, the transformation into one, the reception of the forest and your last lines – they’re icing on the cake. Loved this!

    Like

     
  10. julian clarke

    August 1, 2016 at 4:22 pm

    Such an emotive write, I really good read; thank you.

    Like

     
  11. thotpurge

    August 1, 2016 at 10:05 pm

    I catch my shadow in stride.. love that!

    Like

     
  12. jasmin

    August 2, 2016 at 1:53 pm

    lovely poem, full of feeling 🙂

    Like

     
  13. magicalmysticalteacher

    August 2, 2016 at 2:13 pm

    What a pleasant little jaunt you’ve pictured!

    Like

     
  14. Rall

    August 3, 2016 at 1:50 am

    Scent of pines and wild blueberry dreams ….great names for cocktails:)….Dreams can come true no matter how old you are.

    Like

     
  15. dsnake1

    August 3, 2016 at 8:47 am

    there may be a background story to this poem.
    behind all these words of life, do i detect a hint of melancholy?
    a very well crafted piece of a poem, my friend. 🙂

    Like

     
  16. Magaly Guerrero

    August 5, 2016 at 8:33 am

    Knowing is such a blessing…

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
