RSS

Un-Stolen Love

03 Oct

  Then— When I was younger if you stole my shit I’d kick your ass. And Sometimes, I was ripped off gettin’ my justice ass kicked.

  Now— After many bouts with reality some won, some lost, gettin’ close to an age of seventy I’ve gained some humility, understanding, and dignity.

  Forever— You are welcomed to take what you find, whatever you want from me, without stealing from each other. Take it, if it fits or fulfills your needs… enhancing it for another.

 

rose winter root sleep

until you rise in spring time

our love I shall keep

 
19 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2016 in Poetry

 

19 responses to “Un-Stolen Love

  1. kanzensakura

    October 3, 2016 at 7:02 pm

    Nice poem but not sure this is a haibun.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • ZQ

      October 3, 2016 at 7:06 pm

      Sorry… I did break up my paragraphs to radically … but I think my Haiku is tight. 🙂

      Like

       
      • kanzensakura

        October 3, 2016 at 9:55 pm

        Your haiku is good but the haiku is only a small portion of this prosimetric form.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. Bodhirose

    October 3, 2016 at 7:07 pm

    Most of us seem to mellow with age. I like the open heart and the invitation to take what you need at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Michael

    October 3, 2016 at 7:38 pm

    Age is good isn’t it, we have time to sit back and reflect, gather some wisdom and mostly mellow out on life…..enjoyed the thoughts you conveyed today…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Arcadia Maria

    October 3, 2016 at 8:28 pm

    Very nice haiku at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Grace

    October 3, 2016 at 9:08 pm

    In terms of presentation, the first part can be edited to come out like a prose. Traditional haibun is a prose and a haiku or poem. I have seen contemporary haibun where it is a longer poem + haiku. As to the message, time makes a difference in our perspective on life and love. We mellow as we become older. And your haiku is romantic, a hope for eternal cycle of love ~

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Grace

      October 5, 2016 at 12:40 pm

      I like the new format ZQ ~ Thanks for joining us ~

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • ZQ

        October 5, 2016 at 11:10 pm

        Like

         
  6. Brian

    October 3, 2016 at 9:18 pm

    I like your stance and your stature.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. whimsygizmo

    October 3, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    I love “rose winter root sleep.” This just falls off of the tongue. Wow.
    (You’re gonna want to reformat your first part into a paragraph, to fit the form. Grace lays it out in the original prompt post.)

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    October 4, 2016 at 12:32 am

    Maybe getting a bit softer with age is a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. Marcoantonio Arellano

    October 4, 2016 at 4:08 am

    i judge you not for not meeting certain conventions of form or style but will compliment you on the narrative. as i get older i no longer gather things as possessions but rather collect them with my eyes and if i have gathered anything, anyone can have them for i will not take them with me and they only tether me to a mundane existence that soon will be but a stepping stone in my journey.

    good write !

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. paulscribbles

    October 4, 2016 at 4:51 am

    I like it. Wisdom and ass kicking in the same piece.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. Sanaa Rizvi

    October 4, 2016 at 6:34 am

    I absolutely adore this 😀 the emotion, the wit, not to mention the honest gesture ❤️ Unforgettable write ❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. petrujviljoen

    October 4, 2016 at 8:42 am

    I’m blown away by the haiku (or senrye) complimenting the very poetic prose. It’s good advice. I’m learning it difficultly. Got ten and a bit years to go maybe, before I get it. Thanks for the signpost.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. Mish

    October 4, 2016 at 3:15 pm

    I do love the message from your thoughts.It is unfortunate that we often do not have this perspective until we are older. It would be a different world. Enjoyed your haiku very much.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. Laura Bloomsbury

    October 5, 2016 at 5:39 am

    leaves much for the reader to fill in between Then-Now-Forever – feels almost voyeuristic and very touching

    Liked by 1 person

     
  15. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)

    October 5, 2016 at 6:23 am

    Perhaps one becomes more considerate and more forgiving with wisdom of age. It is not a fault, certainly a virtue, ZQ!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
