RSS

A Private Conversation With Me And I

29 Oct

My life has misplaced my glasses,

The remote, and my e-mail password.

“Stop staggering,

Are you disoriented”?

Yes, someone has stolen my memory.

And, taken all the labels off the cans.

“Oh Shoot-MaHoot,

what are you going to do”?

Open one or two cans

And, expect a supper surprise! What else can I do

Go hungry— never knowing what else to do?

“Sounds right, eat right,

Walk it off, sing a song,

then take a shit

Before you go nite-nite.

 

Hmmmmmm…

 

Glasses, remote, and e-mail note

are balanced on the toilet paper.

left there last night,

busy thinking about tomorrow.

 

Oh, and your cup…

And tea bag

Are on the saucer

On the windowsill.”

Thanks, I remember—  now

I am, on my way there.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2016 in Existential, Getting Old, Poetry, Silly stuff, Zen

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “A Private Conversation With Me And I

  1. Sherry Marr

    October 30, 2016 at 12:17 pm

    This made me smile. I especially love the supper surprise! Always a treat to read you, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    October 30, 2016 at 1:25 pm

    Ha… maybe those cans can make you forget too… but they are cold and nice… soon time for one.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Mary

    October 30, 2016 at 2:07 pm

    Smiles! Definitely a slice of real life. Light-hearted with a bit of truth.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Sanaa Rizvi

    October 30, 2016 at 2:26 pm

    I really love this -❤️ there are many of us who from time to time have a conversation with ourselves as we reflect upon the realities of life. Beautifully penned ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Truedessa

    October 30, 2016 at 2:37 pm

    I think you found the humorous side of forgetfulness.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Myrna Rosa

    October 30, 2016 at 3:47 pm

    I wanted to write something like this, but I forgot to do so. Ha. Great conversation! Love the reality in this as well as the humor.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. Rall

    October 30, 2016 at 6:39 pm

    Tinge of sadness about this one with advancing age. Thank you for your lovely comment on my poem.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Brother Ollie

    October 30, 2016 at 7:41 pm

    I’m living such a life! Authentic piece!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. Audrey Howitt

    October 30, 2016 at 8:10 pm

    Ah-this might be me! Clever write!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. Colleen@ LOOSELEAFNOTES

    October 30, 2016 at 9:13 pm

    This cracked me up. And I love the under the breath utterances.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. thotpurge

    October 30, 2016 at 9:54 pm

    Talking to oneself… now that’s fun!!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. totomai

    October 31, 2016 at 2:42 am

    I found myself talking to my self at times. lol but hey we can discover a thing or thing while having a conversation with ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. Gillena Cox

    October 31, 2016 at 9:00 am

    LOL a juxtaposition of placings, Thanks for dropping in at my Sunday Standard this week

    much love…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. Gillena Cox

    October 31, 2016 at 9:02 am

    Monday WRites 81
    You are invited to link in

    Happy Halloween

    much love…

    Like

     
  15. Sherry Marr

    November 13, 2016 at 3:50 pm

    This is very sweet and endearing. Smiles.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
