RSS

Notes Found On The Refrigerator April 2017

29 Apr

I remember my father, telling me, as we were walking to the rest room, “Don’t foget to washes your hands”. I said, “I know, I do. After”. “Now that you are growing up, I suggest you wash your hands before. Can you imagined, what you have touched today? Doorknobs, handshakes, coins, dollar bills, light poles, oh, and who knows? You get the picture. I Wash BEFORE and AFTER. Do you understand”? He replied. “Yes sir”, I said.

Memories idyll

Between winter and spring time

Awakening day

*****

 

The lamps are on, I can see from their window.

Golden shades worn from years long gone;

Pulled down into shadows.

*****

 

Seedlings grow from dark to light

What have I sown this morning bright?

How have I grown? Questioned—

Through this sleepless night.

*****

Listening, understanding, and mutual agreement

After speaking each other’s truth and feelings.

Remembering to respond with peace;

Not with words already spoken,

But with the inaudible ones,

The heart so often hears.

Love Is Not Abstract

******

The light of day is always brighter before transgressing

Into the gray of dusk; as memories are —before they fade.

My presence illuminates my way. I close my eyes to see my path.

I close my mouth to listen for direction. I hear nothing

But my footsteps—

Until they fade—

I Smile in the morning.

*****

Oh, pretty dandelion, yellow-er than gold!

There you are between stones and my footsteps;

Smiling at your announcement of spring

at my door step

In Center Sandwich, NH April 2017

 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2017 in Poetry

 

15 responses to “Notes Found On The Refrigerator April 2017

  1. thotpurge

    April 30, 2017 at 10:33 am

    Golden shades worn from years long gone;
    Pulled down into shadows…. gosh that has such a melancholy sigh to it!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Jae Rose

    April 30, 2017 at 10:36 am

    Thank goodness for that dandelion – and I can relate to the hand washing

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Sherry Marr

    April 30, 2017 at 11:30 am

    I love the wisdom in “remembering to respond in peace” not with words but with what the heart hears. Love isnt what we say, it’s what we do. I LOVE “I close my eyes to see my path.” WOW! (why didnt I think of that? LOL.) I so love this poem, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    April 30, 2017 at 11:57 am

    Bless that dandelion… so much strength in that…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Beverly Crawford

    April 30, 2017 at 12:11 pm

    So much to be taken from these offerings. “Golden shades worn from years long gone” to the brave dandelion announcing Spring. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. magicalmysticalteacher

    April 30, 2017 at 12:33 pm

    Hearing nothing but your footsteps would be reassuring, I would think.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. Rommy

    April 30, 2017 at 12:36 pm

    Love, especially when it is a verb as it should be, is never abstract. I like the construction of that particular piece too, as it visually distills down to its essence.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. sanaarizvi

    April 30, 2017 at 1:37 pm

    This is one of my favorites from you ❤️ so incredibly evocative… so beautifully written…❤️

    Liked by 1 person

     
  9. Kerry

    April 30, 2017 at 1:44 pm

    I love the idea of refrigerator poetry! The first offers sound advice! And who can resist the happy face of the dandelion?

    Liked by 1 person

     
  10. Colleen@ LOOSELEAFNOTES

    April 30, 2017 at 1:55 pm

    The lamps and golden shades is my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  11. magicofwordsblog

    April 30, 2017 at 3:25 pm

    I enjoyed these … each one, a gem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  12. Truedessa

    April 30, 2017 at 4:07 pm

    I close my eyes to see the path, yes we often must envision the path first! I like the announcement of spring at my doorstep! Happy Spring ZQ

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. gillena

    April 30, 2017 at 6:46 pm

    The dandelion is my favourite, thanks for linking to my Sunday Standard today

    Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. Magaly Guerrero

    April 30, 2017 at 7:36 pm

    Love the conversation with dad, his reasons… And the last bit, with all its blooming promises. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
  15. 1sojournal

    May 1, 2017 at 12:11 pm

    A smorgasbord of words, thoughts, and feelings. Delightful and thank you,

    Elizabeth

    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2017/04/30/april-pad-challenge-final-day/

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
