RSS

Notes Found On The Refrigerator May 2017

14 May

Thankful twigs, children of the blight:

Used as kindling from Camelot to Brooklyn, with ancestry in branches of Majestic Elms—

Extinct in the flames of purification they crackled and glowed in memories

Of the beautiful Main streets with bustling thoroughfares.

—when they, in regal tradition, stole the whole show.

Some interesting research digging around on the subject (for whatever, when it popped up in my mind) about the Elm tree… and perhaps I was looking for something about our future? Understanding and approaching it with history’s humility

: https://growinghistory.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/some-history-of-historic-plants/

 

*****

            No matter where I have been, in my heart I have always heard “welcome son!” And, I am as sure as my sisters have heard addressed— personally to them. The question that accompanies such a greeting is; where exactly are we? That we are being received and welcomed? And, of course, how our etiquette suddenly begins and our exit should end.

Rain falls hard on thorns

Roses soon to bloom perk up

Both will co-exist

*****

Whoa, Silver! Here comes the black stallion to welcome the Pinto.

*****

I sit here by the firelight of life, feeling old, tired, and worn out.

I sit proud with a peaceful heart after battles lost and won—

I notice the imprint of my shield, above the fireplace,

Nicked and gashed in gallant memory as history touts.

It has been sold. Two weeks ago. For bread, vegetables, lettuce, meat,

And sprouts.

I am neither happy nor angry

Nor am I hungry.

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Notes Found On The Refrigerator May 2017

  1. gillena

    May 14, 2017 at 3:09 pm

    There’s fine resolution in hunger being sated. On all levels.

    Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. magicalmysticalteacher

    May 14, 2017 at 3:27 pm

    I love that phrase “firelight of life.” I will carry it in my heart throughout the rest of today, and beyond…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Julian

    May 14, 2017 at 3:51 pm

    I like the juxtaposition of the thorn and rose, and the co existence.
    Quite sad, but not being hungry, well that’s good!. I enjoyed reading your work.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    May 14, 2017 at 4:23 pm

    Yes the thorn and the rose works so well to show how complex the world is…

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. Sherry Marr9

    May 14, 2017 at 4:24 pm

    I love the reflective tone, kiddo. We sit here bemused at having reached this time in our life. There is much to be said for a good supply of vegetables. Smiles.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Myrna Rosa

    May 14, 2017 at 8:12 pm

    I like these musings. Reflections of life, its past, its approaching end mark the wisdom you’ve earned. I really like these refrigerator notes.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  7. Beverly Crawford

    May 14, 2017 at 8:24 pm

    An evocative write!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  8. Thotpurge

    May 14, 2017 at 8:25 pm

    Love the snippets…especially
    I am neither happy nor angry
    Nor am I hungry…. that touch of despair in it is fantastically done.

    Like

     
  9. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)

    May 14, 2017 at 9:00 pm

    I am neither happy nor angry
    Nor am I hungry.

    A noble thought ZQ! Once a decision is made one sticks to it with no regrets

    Hank

    Like

     
  10. 1sojournal

    May 14, 2017 at 11:03 pm

    What a wonderful set of reflections. I think I must get my refrigerator poetry out again. Words clinging to that clear white field, satisfy another kind of hunger. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

     
  11. Jae Rose

    May 15, 2017 at 6:53 am

    Wise choice – we cannot take our shields to the grave on an empty stomach

    Like

     
  12. sanaarizvi

    May 15, 2017 at 9:40 am

    Beautifully eloquent write ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

     
  13. annell4

    May 15, 2017 at 9:46 am

    A beautiful collection! What a find! And you say you found it on the refrigerator door?

    Liked by 1 person

     
  14. ZQ

    May 15, 2017 at 11:13 am

    They are large and small post its I plaster on my frig when I think of something on the fly. 🙂

    Like

     
  15. C.C.

    May 19, 2017 at 10:19 pm

    I like the idea of “thankful twigs” and of being able to sit by the ‘firelight of life’ feeling neither happy, angry nor hungry. Fantastic word choices, ZQ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
